James, Edmund J. The territorial records of Illinois. I. The executive register, 1809-1818. II. Journal of the Executive council, 1812. III. Journal of the House of representatives, 1812. Springfield, Ill., Phillips bros., state printers, 1901

Digitized Source
(a graphical representation of the document)

To view the source text, see the digitized copy of the work found below. The work was digitized by Google as part of the Hathi Trust Digital Library.



Referenced Items
(content on HistoryKat that references this area)

Proclamation establishing Gallatin, Johnson, and Madison counties, 1812

By virtue of the powers vested in the Governor of the Territory, I do hereby lay off a county or district to be called the County of Madison to be included within the following bounds, viz.: To begin on the Mississippi, to run with the second township line above Cahokia east until it strikes the dividing line between the Illinois and Indiana Territories therein with said dividing line to the line of Upper Canada, thence with said line to the Mississippi, and thence down the Mississippi to the beginning. I do appoint the house of Thomas Kirkpatrick to be the seat of justice of said county. I do also lay off a county or district to be called the County of Gallatin, to be bounded as follows, viz.: